We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Black Patterns Vol. 1

by Black Patterns

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    180g blast furnace pressing of Black Patterns Vol. 1 LP with matte, screen-printed sleeve, A6 postcard insert and download code.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Black Patterns Vol. 1 via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days

      £7 GBP or more 

    You own this  


  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      £7 GBP  or more

    You own this


1 07:41
2 06:52
3 05:11
4 05:32
5 04:18
6 08:48
7 07:07
8 05:03


Black Patterns Vol. 1 is the full-length album release by Lobster Theremin regular Snow Bone, revealing a more spectrally destructive and experimental side through his Black Patterns moniker.

The LP is a depositary for plaque-coated material culled from a series of experiments with his own ‘Oblique Strategies’ style limitations or ‘tasks’. This conceptually translates into eight raw-to-the-bone styles of techno, house, noise and electro, segueing through layers of blown-out sounds and scattered intricacies along the way.

The bulk of the material emerged from hardware jams with rudimentary editing, with Hare deliberately limiting the function and type of equipment used to dissuade over-thinking in the album process, achieving a rough-cut and rusted aesthetic.

The tracks were recorded in his home bunker onto a 20-year-old ageing 4-track cassette recorder with filthy, worn-out tape heads, onto tapes that had held several Coil albums, as well as hundreds of his own over-dubbed recordings.

The resulting phantom sounds and textures that developed are intrinsic elements of the albums feel and mood, as are the random re-pitching and other sonic degradations of tape modulation and modifications.

The resulting black patterns settle in the landscape where Cabaret Voltaire and DAF meet Basic Channel, King Tubby, Jamal Moss and Jeff Mills with unique magneto-phonic ghosts haunting it’s dark spaces.


released January 15, 2016

Production and arrangement by Rob Hare
Mastered at D&M
Original artwork by R Hare


all rights reserved



Lobster Theremin London, UK

Record Label // Home-made Instrument

contact / help

Contact Lobster Theremin

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account